Encyclopedia of Shinto Kokugakuin University
 main menu
  »New EOS site



  »Guide to Usage

  »Contributors & Translators


  »Movies List

Home » 3. Institutions and Administrative Practices » Modern and Contemporary
A pre-war shrine rank comprised of prefectural shrines (kensha) and municipal district shrines (fusha). In the modern shrine ranking system established in 1871, shrines were divided into kansha (state shrines) and shosha (general shrines); these shrines occupied the highest rank of the latter (shosha) and were formally venerated by prefectures and municipal districts. Shrines of this rank include not only those in the three municipal districts (Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka) and all prefectures but also shrines in Hokkaido, Karafuto, and Taiwan. In the Council of State (Dajōkan) edict issued in the fifth month of 1871, which set out state contributions to shrines and regulations for priests, there is reference to domain shrines alongside prefectural and municipal ones, but the abolition of the domains in the seventh month of that year meant that the rank of domain shrine was never applied. At the end of the war, in 1945, there were one thousand one hundred forty-eight shrines accorded the rank of prefectural or municipal district shrine.
See The Modern Shrine Ranking System

— Inoue Nobutaka
"Establishment of a National Learning Institute for the Dissemination of Research on Shinto and Japanese Culture"
4-10-28 Higashi, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, 150-8440, Japan
URL http://21coe.kokugakuin.ac.jp/
Copyright ©2002-2006 Kokugakuin University. All rights reserved.
Ver. 1.3