Encyclopedia of Shinto Kokugakuin University
 main menu
  »New EOS site



  »Guide to Usage

  »Contributors & Translators


  »Movies List

Home » 9. Texts and Sources » Other Basic Texts
This one volume work was written Kitabatake Chikafusa during the Nanbokuchō period (1336-1392). The text, originally entitled Shoshaji, is a history that focuses on the shrines which held in their possession offerings made by the Imperial Court to the "Twenty-Two Shrines" (nijūnisha). The work's current title is derived from its description of the group of twenty-one shrines that includes the Grand Shrines of Ise (Ise Jingu), Iwashimizu, Kamo, Matsunoo, Hirano, Inari, Kasuga, Ōmiwa, Ōyamato, Isonokami, Hirose, Tatsuta, Ōharano, Yoshida, Sumiyoshi, Hie, Hirota, Umenomiya, Gion, Kitano, and Niu Shrines, with the addition of Kifune (known today as Kibune) Shrine. Furthermore, the text includes descriptions of Kumano, Izumo, and Atsuta Shrines, among others, as well as the Eight Cardinal Kami (miyachū hasshindono). From a theoretical perspective, one can clearly see the influence of the teachings of Ise Shintō in the text. The Nijūisshaki is included in the Shintō taikei, Ronsetsu-hen, Kitabatake Chikafusa, volume 1. See also nijūnisha.

— Shirayama Yoshitarō
"Establishment of a National Learning Institute for the Dissemination of Research on Shinto and Japanese Culture"
4-10-28 Higashi, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, 150-8440, Japan
URL http://21coe.kokugakuin.ac.jp/
Copyright ©2002-2006 Kokugakuin University. All rights reserved.
Ver. 1.3