Encyclopedia of Shinto Kokugakuin University
 main menu
  »New EOS site



  »Guide to Usage

  »Contributors & Translators


  »Movies List

Home » 9. Texts and Sources » Other Basic Texts
(Watarai Ieyuki)
A fifteen-volume corpus of Ise Shintō thought compiled by Watarai Ieyuki (completed in 1320). Using a broad comparison of both Japanese and Chinese works, the author, a priest of the Outer Shrine of the Grand Shrines of Ise (Ise Jingū), attempted to demonstrate the origin of Japanese deities (jingi ). Watarai compiled excerpts fom these texts into fifteen volumes:
       1. Beginning of Heaven and Earth (tenchi kaibyaku);
       2. Transformation of Tenshin (Amatsukami) (tenshin shoka);
       3. Creation of the Imperial Household (honchō zōka);
       4. the Heavenly Palace (tenkyū);
       5. Transfer of the Inner Shrine (naikū gosenza);
       6. Transfer of the Outer Shrine (gekū gosenza);
       7. Fundamental Treasures (hōgi );
       8. Forms and Writings (gyōbun);
       9. Central Pillar (shin no mihashira);
       10. Attached Shrines of the Inner Shrine (naikū betsugū);
       11. Attached Shrines of the Outer Shrine (gekū betsugū);
       12. Proclamations of the Kami (shinsen);
       13. Prohibitions (kinaki );
       14. the Divine Mirror (shinkyō);
       15. Essentials of Shintō (Shintō gengi ).

Outside of books specifically about Ise Shintō and Ryōbu Shintō, Watarai took exceprts from histories, as well as works on Buddhism, Confucianism and Taoism. This work is included in the Dai jingū sōsho, Watarai Shintō taisei, vol. 1 (1955, Jingūshichō), and the Zoku zoku gunsho ruijyū, Jingi.

—Itō Satoshi
"Establishment of a National Learning Institute for the Dissemination of Research on Shinto and Japanese Culture"
4-10-28 Higashi, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, 150-8440, Japan
URL http://21coe.kokugakuin.ac.jp/
Copyright ©2002-2006 Kokugakuin University. All rights reserved.
Ver. 1.3