Encyclopedia of Shinto Kokugakuin University
 main menu
  »New EOS site



  »Guide to Usage

  »Contributors & Translators


  »Movies List

Home » 2. Kami (Deities) » Kami in Classic Texts
[Gonan sanjoshin]
"Five male and three female kami," a collective term referring to the offspring produced as a result of Amaterasu and Susanoo's trial by pledge (ukei). The three female kami were produced from the "seed" (monozane) represented by Susanoo's ten-span sword. Amaterasu broke the sword into three sections, rinsed them in the "true-well of heaven," then chewed them up and blew out the pieces in a fine mist. From this were produced the three kami Takiribime, Ichikishimahime, and Tagitsuhime. These three sisters, known as kami of the sea, came to be called the "three goddesses of Munakata."

The five male kami were produced as Susanoo received the "seeds" represented by Amaterasu's jewels and chewed them, likewise blowing them out in a mist. The first kami produced was Amenooshihomimi, born from the jewels wound on Amaterasu's left coil of hair. The second was Amenohohi, produced from the jewels wound on her right coil of hair. The third was Amatsuhikone, produced from the vine used to bind up Amaterasu's hair. The fourth was Ikutsuhikone, produced from the jewels worn on Amaterasu's left arm, and the fifth was Kumanokusubi, produced from the jewels worn on her right arm. These five male kami all have names associated with the sun and rice.

The attributes of the "seeds" (monozane) from which the kami were produced also differ in some versions of the story.

-Mori Mizue
"Establishment of a National Learning Institute for the Dissemination of Research on Shinto and Japanese Culture"
4-10-28 Higashi, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, 150-8440, Japan
URL http://21coe.kokugakuin.ac.jp/
Copyright ©2002-2006 Kokugakuin University. All rights reserved.
Ver. 1.3