Encyclopedia of Shinto Kokugakuin University
 main menu
  »New EOS site



  »Guide to Usage

  »Contributors & Translators


  »Movies List

Home » 5. Rites and Festivals » Shrine Rituals
One category of shrine rites, referring to ritual conducted on a middle or medium scale. From the Meiji period, such rites were specified by law, but since the war, they have been regulated by the Association of Shinto Shrines' Jinja saishi kitei. According to this work, chūsai include saitansai, genchisai, kigensai, the main ritual of kannamesai on its officially appointed day, meijisai, tenchōsai, and other rites based on the above, or rites at particular shrines based on written shrine traditions. The standard for such rites is set by the practice of national, official ritual or rites based on historical, written tradition at individual shrines. Performance of such rites is based on the medium rites section of the Jinja saishiki. The division of rites into major, middle and minor (taishi, chūshi, shōshi) based on their scale and contents dates back to the Ritsuryō period, but in the Engishiki the chūshi comprise only the ki'nensai, tsukinamesai, kan'namesai,niinamesai, kamosai and others. The sensodaijōsai is the only taishi (corresponds to taisai). Those rites specified in the Engishiki as chūshi correspond to the taisai of shrines today. According to the Kōshitsu saishi rei of 1908, rites are divided into taisai and shōsai, with no middle category.

— Mogi Sadasumi
"Establishment of a National Learning Institute for the Dissemination of Research on Shinto and Japanese Culture"
4-10-28 Higashi, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, 150-8440, Japan
URL http://21coe.kokugakuin.ac.jp/
Copyright ©2002-2006 Kokugakuin University. All rights reserved.
Ver. 1.3